Emily Collins in the HOT SEAT!

Emily Collins is going to the BONFIRE! Image by OTB Photography

Chipper Kiwi Emily Collins had a breakthrough year in the USA in 2011, after placing highly and winning races in New Zealand, Australia and the Netherlands. The New Zealand under 23 champion forged a solid reputation in her first season with Vanderkitten-Focus, and will return to the US in 2012 with renewed focus and determination. Behind the scenes Emily studies Business at Massey University and entertains her teammates with her witty, tongue in cheek banter. Here are the answers to her Q&A:

Name: Emily Collins

Hobbies: Biking, tennis, beaching, running, fun with friends and fam

Non Cycling action/ adventure/ fitness story or memory: When I was 14 I won the Auckland Junior singles tennis champs. I was pretty stoked. Soon after, I gave up the racket for the bike 😉

First Bike Race: My first Tour was the Junior  Novice Tour of Manuwatu. I had no idea how to race and when it came to the first KOM I was slightly confused why all these crazy little girls were sprinting up a hill! The next stage I was told by my coach to race up all the hills as fast as I could. I did !! The field wasn’t too happy

When did you first hear about Vanderkitten? When racing the NSW Crit series in Aussie. They were the ‘cool american gals’ that everyone loved.

 What does it mean to you to be a part of Vanderkitten?: Being on Vanderkitten is pretty awesome. I love the people, the team, the management and everyone involved. I love that even though when it comes to racing, it’s serious, there’s always an element of fun with VK. We are definitely a focused but relaxed team which is very cool.

It’s also great that Vanderkitten is highly focussed on women’s sport and leadership. I love repping the VK gear and having people comment on our badass kits! Women’s cycling is a huge growth sport and being part of VK is a great way to promote the sport and it’s many benefits!

2 thoughts on “Emily Collins in the HOT SEAT!

Leave a comment